Minors Through to Next Round of Championship

Antrim Minor B Football Championship

St. Joseph’s GAC, Glenavy 1.14 v 2.08 Clan na Gael

When these sides met in the league Clan na Gael won on a score of 4.20 v 1.1 which made the visitors raging hot favourites going into this game. The home side fielding a young side were rewarded with a workman like display. The amalgamated side looked like they just had to turn up and were never allowed to settle into their rhythm.

The home side were first on the scoresheet with a Fergal Henry pointed free. Back came the city side to go into the lead with points from Ryan and Niall Kelly. The Clan’s were awarded a penalty which was dispatched to the net by Eoin Dixson. The ever reliable Fergal Henry pulled a point back for the hill side. Niall Kelly, Conor Quinn and Eoin Dixson added points to put their side six in front with halftime approaching. Darragh Armstrong got on the score sheet to leave the halftime score 1.05 v 0.03 in Clan na Gael’s favour.

Ryan Kelly had the first score with a point from play. Home keeper Jack McCann even though two goals were scored against him had an excellent game and kickouts always found a team mate. From one of his kick outs the ball was played on from midfield and made its way to Fiontan O’Boyle who had replaced the injured Sean McCambridge split the sticks from an acute angle. The home side went into overdrive and added scores with a brace of points from Fergal Henry and a goal and point from the hard working Darragh Armstrong to put their side one ahead. A long ball from midfield caused panic in the home defence which allowed the visitors their second goal to put his side two up. Once again young Henry steadied the ship with a pointed free. Back came the city side with a point which proved to be their penultimate score.

The orange men then added five unanswered points with Fergal Henry getting three (1 free), Ruairi Nelson and Lorcan O’Neill getting the other two. With time almost up Clan na Gael had their last point. It was fitting that Fergal Henry had the final point to the game to bring his personal tally to nine points. The final whistle blew to leave St.Joseph’s in the next round on a score of 1.14 v 2.08.

This was an all round team effort and everyone deserves great credit to the standard of play from such a young team Clan na Gael will fell disappointed in the way they played but must agree the better team won on the night.

St. Joseph’s: Jack McCann; Lorcan O’Neill; Michael Fox; Anto O’Hare; Matthew Lawlor; Calum Creighton; Pearse  Connaughton; Lorcan Nelson, Anthony Gallagher; Aodh O’Neill; Ruairi Nelson; Caolan McClenaghan; Sean McCambridge (Fiontan O’Boyle h/t); Fergal Henry; Darragh Armstrong.

Referee: Richie Leahy St.Comgall’s.

Club News

Lotto Results

Twitter Feed

#OnThisDay in the Hayes Hotel, Thurles in 1884, Michael Cusack, Maurice Davin and six others met to form an organisation for the preservation and cultivation of our national pastimes. This organisation became known as the #GAA.

Comhghairdeas to our U16s who were awarded with the Lisburn and Castlereagh Sports Personality of the Year Awards #spoty2019 #lccc


We have just carried our major reparation work on our pitch at Chapel Hill after the season has finished. As a result the pitch will be CLOSED for ALL activities for everyone until February 2020. Our walking track remains open for use and lit in the evenings