75th Anniversary Gala Ball

75 Years

Now that the dust has settled and we have had time to reflect, the Club would like to thank all of you who were able to make it to our Gala on Saturday evening. It really was a fantastic night and a fitting way to celebrate our anniversary year.  We hope you all had a great time and that it will live long in the memory.

Many thanks to our organising committee and all those who assisted in the last few months. Without you such an occasion would not be possible and it is truly appreciated by us as a Club. 

Well done to our Envelope Prize Draw and Auction winners and thank you everyone for you generosity.  Thanks to our sponsors too, your continued support is vital to us as a Club. 

Brian and the Europa staff looked after us so well, the food was excellent and service was superb. 

Big thanks to Mark Sidebottom who compered the evening so well and to Grimes and McKee and Pure Blarney for the excellent entertainment! Plenty of laughs and craic were had! 

Appreciation too, to John Horan, GAA President and Michael Hasson, Ulster President, who spoke so well about our Club and the Association as a whole. We were honoured and humbled by your kind words. You both spoke with sincerity and highlighted that the strength of the GAA is its position and responsibility in the community. We hope to further develop our Club’s standing in the Glenavy community as we move into a new chapter in the history of St. Joseph’s GAC. 

We are very lucky that our history, especially over the last number of years has been recorded so well by Bert Trowlen and the Club thanks him for his continued support. The photos are fantastic and something that we can look back on and enjoy. Thanks also to Aislinn Higgins of Dream Media Ireland who recorded the night as part of our upcoming 75th Anniversary DVD. 

Finally, congratulations to our award winners. Absolutely well deserved and an honour for you to receive the award in our 75th Year. Maith sibh!

Senior Ladies Player of the Year – Elise Cafolla

Senior Reserve Player of the Year – Gareth Collins

Alex Marsden Senior Player of the Year – Martin Nelson

Francie Doone Clubperson of the Year – David Honeyford

De réir a chéile a thógtar caisleáin agus ní neart go cur le chéile

Club News

Lotto Results

Twitter Feed

A reminder to everyone that all of our facilities at Chapel Hill are currently closed. In recent days there have been groups of people congregating at the pitch - it is important that we follow the guidance we have been given and stay at home to help stop the spread of this virus

The Sunday Game returns this weekend with classic action and reaction, accounts from players on the front-line and the latest news from the world of Gaelic Games. GAA President John Horan joins @sportsdes in studio tomorrow night on @rte2 at 9:30pm

Cathy Scannell has handed over a cheque for £2094 to the Glenavy Covid-19 Response team from our club. £1699 was raised by the Senior Ladies completing a walk/run Challange and £395 was raised by an online quiz. We thank all those who made a contribution towards this #gaa #nsla